3 Simple ways to up your Instagram Game!

Happy Thursday Guys!

Anyone who knows me knows that I take A LOT of photos!! Most of the photos I take are of sunsets, food or places.. with the occasional selfie somewhere in between ๐Ÿ™‚ Some photos end up turning out perfectly! Some… not so much! Either way, I love capturing all moments that are worth remembering so that I can look back at them later on ๐Ÿ™‚ Some of the moments will end up on Social Media, however, most of them will remain private or solely between friends & family ๐Ÿ™‚

Ive gotten a lot of requests to go into how I edit my Instagram photos, so here it goes! ๐Ÿ™‚


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yes, my camera roll consists solely of landscapes, sunsets and food

As far as Instagram goes, I spend a fair amount of time on the app. However, what I don’t do is spend a lot of time editing pictures and curating my feed. This has resulted in my feed being … not so cohesive. I think Cohesive themes are are so aesthetically pleasing! and im constantly admiring the ones I come across. Sadly, I find it really hard to commit to one themes! I like to have the freedom to post whatever picture I want without having to worry if it will fit the selected theme ot not. So instead of having a theme, I simply post square photos.. and I think doing that makes your feed look a little aesthetically pleasing.

First things first, I shoot my “everyday” photos on my Iphone (5s).

Image result for iphone 5s white tumblr

It has an 8 mp lens ๐Ÿ™‚ Even though the lens quality is less than the newer Iphones, It still does the job very well! It also gives photos a personal feel to them and I like that! The Only problem is photos take up the most memory on my phone, so every other week I back all of them up and then delete from my phone ๐Ÿ™‚

Here are some pictures taken from my phone, I’d say they’re pretty good for an Iphone 5S!

Image result for sunset photography

If I’m not using my Iphone, then I’ll shoot on the Canon 1200D. I think it’s the perfect camera for someone who enjoys taking photos but doesn’t want to spend a lot of money on a photographer-like- camera.

https://i0.wp.com/s1.favim.com/610/150415/aesthetic-bed-black-camera-Favim.com-2652860.jpg

What I love about this camera is it captures pictues with such detail, no matter what time of day it is! Pictures from this camera also have a really proffesional look to them, and, it’s extremely easy to use!ย  (Which is perfect if youre not very tech savy like me.)

It goes for about 50,000 Kenya Shillings ( ยฃ350/ $462), which is a pretty decent price to spend on a camera ๐Ÿ™‚

I use this camera mostly when I travel or for special occasions. I’d say it’s quite portable on it’s own, however it becomes a little harder to carry around with the attaching lens.

Here are some examples of the magic a Canon 1200D produces:

Image result for sunset photography

Image result for amsterdam at night

Image result for maasai mara

The other camera that I use sometimes is the Samsung WB150F. I believe it has been discontunited by Samsung, however it is perfect in terms of portability and photo quality! This camera is really good for taking photos within a shallow depth of field.

samsung.png

I did find this Camera on Amazon, so if anyone is interested in purchasing it you can click the link below ๐Ÿ™‚

Click Here to view this Camera on Amazon !

Above are some photos taken by the Samsung WB150F

Photo Editors

To be honest I never really edit the photos that I post on Instagram. I’ll just select one and then tweak it (if need be) on the editor on instagram or the Iphone editor.Simple. However, because I am trying to put more effort into my feed, here are 2 of the apps I have began using:

  1. VSCO CAM

VSCO CAM! The photo editor that results in flawless instagram feeds! I have always wondered how people manage to consistently post photos with the same amount of brightness, saturation, contrast etc.

So I looked into it a little bit, and Ifound my answers on Pinterest. I feel like Ive been living under a rock because I honestly never knew about any of this!

Most of you reading this may already know this, but I had no clue that this was how it was done!ย  As you can see below , Pinterest gives you all the filter pre-sets which you can then appy to all your photos ๐Ÿ™‚ So you can find a theme that you like, and follow the instructions and preset all our photos with the same settings.

img_3425img_3428

img_3427img_3426

Once I find a theme I love and can stick to, VSCO CAM will probably become my best friend.

2. InstaSizeย 

Image result for instasize logo

InstaSize is the other photo editing appI use a lot. I use it mainly to make collages or, to put the white borders on photos. It’s extremely easy to use and I really like it. It also has a simple photo editor where you can adjust brightness, contrast etc.

Image result for sunset collage

Image result for sunset collage

Other really good editingย  apps that are similar to the ones above include:

Whitagram

Afterlight

Snapseed

Squaready

One last thing!

If you constantly find yourself in situations where you want to post a series of images but are unsure of whether or not they will match, then you should check out these apps:

  1. Planoly
  2. UNUM

They both allow you to draft your feed seemlesly! and, they are free in the app store.

I hope you get the gist of how I take and edit my photos now ๐Ÿ™‚

As always, thank you for reading! Emma x

 

Leave a Reply

